Page 1 of 2
1135 voltage sensor
Posted: Mon Nov 01, 2010 3:09 pm
by cizzi
i'm using a 1135 phidget voltage sensor, I'm using the Raw value for maximum accuracy using this formula
voltage=(((value / 4.095 / 200.) - 2.5)/0.0681);
yet the result is not accurate at all, i think on a 12.36v battery (tested using a good voltmeter), the phidget reports 12.73v, which is completely off, with the error % reported in the product specs why am I getting such a difference or is this normal???
Re: 1135 voltage sensor
Posted: Mon Nov 01, 2010 3:50 pm
by cizzi
cizzi wrote:i'm using a 1135 phidget voltage sensor, I'm using the Raw value for maximum accuracy using this formula
voltage=(((value / 4.095 / 200.) - 2.5)/0.0681);
yet the result is not accurate at all, i think on a 12.36v battery (tested using a good voltmeter), the phidget reports 12.73v, which is completely off, with the error % reported in the product specs why am I getting such a difference or is this normal???
i get these bogus values with both the phidget interface 8/8/8 and the arduino duemillenove
Re: 1135 voltage sensor
Posted: Tue Nov 02, 2010 10:24 am
by Patrick
Do you have the 8/8/8 in non-ratiometric mode?
-Patrick
Re: 1135 voltage sensor
Posted: Tue Nov 02, 2010 11:37 am
by cizzi
patrick wrote:Do you have the 8/8/8 in non-ratiometric mode?
-Patrick
i don't know, how do I check the status of that, and how do I toggle it?
Re: 1135 voltage sensor
Posted: Tue Nov 02, 2010 12:02 pm
by Patrick
Well, depends on your language, but:
The default is true, as most sensors are ratiometric, but 1135 is non-ratiometric.
-Patrick
Re: 1135 voltage sensor
Posted: Tue Nov 02, 2010 12:25 pm
by cizzi
patrick wrote:Well, depends on your language, but:
The default is true, as most sensors are ratiometric, but 1135 is non-ratiometric.
-Patrick
For my program I used
CPhidgetInterfaceKit_setRatiometric(ifKit, 0);
Which gave me the same result (I allready had it disabled in my code not knowing) and also tried setting it to 1.
I think the problem is just the accuracy of the device, I should have checked the specs in more detail before purchasing it for my application.
Re: 1135 voltage sensor
Posted: Tue Nov 02, 2010 1:21 pm
by Patrick
Are you running your conversion in the sensor change handler? Maybe you could try setting the sensitivity to 1.
The manual states a worst case error of 2% and typical 0.7%. The case that you mention has an error of 3%, assuming that your voltmeter is accurate, so you should be able to get better accuracy - or our specs are wrong, or the sensor is bad.
Also, does the sensor output 500 at 0v? There may be a consistent offset error that you could easily correct for.
-Patrick
Re: 1135 voltage sensor
Posted: Tue Nov 02, 2010 1:37 pm
by cizzi
patrick wrote:Are you running your conversion in the sensor change handler? Maybe you could try setting the sensitivity to 1.
The manual states a worst case error of 2% and typical 0.7%. The case that you mention has an error of 3%, assuming that your voltmeter is accurate, so you should be able to get better accuracy - or our specs are wrong, or the sensor is bad.
Also, does the sensor output 500 at 0v? There may be a consistent offset error that you could easily correct for.
-Patrick
I set the sensitivity to 1, I set the ratiometric to 0 and with 0V reference point I get values of 494 to 512.. still not precise, I just needed 2 decimal precision to monitor the state of charge of a deep cycle 12v battery
Re: 1135 voltage sensor
Posted: Tue Nov 02, 2010 2:03 pm
by cizzi
cizzi wrote:patrick wrote:Are you running your conversion in the sensor change handler? Maybe you could try setting the sensitivity to 1.
The manual states a worst case error of 2% and typical 0.7%. The case that you mention has an error of 3%, assuming that your voltmeter is accurate, so you should be able to get better accuracy - or our specs are wrong, or the sensor is bad.
Also, does the sensor output 500 at 0v? There may be a consistent offset error that you could easily correct for.
-Patrick
I set the sensitivity to 1, I set the ratiometric to 0 and with 0V reference point I get values of 494 to 512.. still not precise, I just needed 2 decimal precision to monitor the state of charge of a deep cycle 12v battery
ok i managed to get it to -/+ 0.04V error margin which is acceptable.. by using the raw sensor value and adjusting it to the 0V reference point
Re: 1135 voltage sensor
Posted: Thu Sep 01, 2011 7:52 am
by Quadro
Patrick wrote:Are you running your conversion in the sensor change handler? Maybe you could try setting the sensitivity to 1.
The manual states a worst case error of 2% and typical 0.7%. The case that you mention has an error of 3%, assuming that your voltmeter is accurate, so you should be able to get better accuracy - or our specs are wrong, or the sensor is bad.
Also, does the sensor output 500 at 0v? There may be a consistent offset error that you could easily correct for.
-Patrick
Hi!
I have the same problem as cizzi. I have 3 Precision Voltage Sensors (1135) and a SBC2 but every sensor shows a voltage of 6.755 V (result of the Phidget Control Panel) instead of 6.95 V (measured with different digital multimeters). This means an error of ~3%.
Ratiometric is set to 0 and sensitivity is set to 1. The output of every sensor at 0 V is ~500.
Any idea why the results are such inaccurate and how to improve them?